Florida DMV change of address, fort lauderdale, florida, united states

How to Notify the Florida DMV of an Address Change?

How to change your address for your Florida DMV?

When looking to change your address for your Florida DMV, you have two options to pick from:

Keep reading to learn more with our step-by-step guide. You can always call FLHSMV Customer Service Center at (850) 617-2000 for further assistance.

If you are moving to Florida from another state, moving within Florida, or moving to another state, you must update your address with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). FLHSMV is a state-level government agency that deals with driver’s license & I.D. cards, vehicle registration tags & titles, and anything remotely related to motorists and their vehicles.

If you have recently moved or are planning to move, you must update your address with FLHSMV within 30 days. Failure to do it can lead to license suspension. So, this should be on top of your moving to-do list if you want to avoid complications in the future. 


Updating your address with Florida DMV:

I’m moving within Florida: How to change my address with the Florida FLHSMV?

If you’re moving within Florida, you have to update your address with the FLHSMV. Filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form will not update your address with the FLHSMV.

You will receive an updated driver’s license after the completion of the address change application. You will not get an entirely new license.

Apart from your driver’s license, you also need to change your address on the vehicle registration. This is to ensure that you do not get into any hassles with the law enforcement agencies.

You can update your address with FLHSMV in the following ways:

Illustrations-Mes changements d’adresse (1)

1. Online

The easiest way to update your address is through the state’s Virtual Office or MyFlorida mobile application. You don’t need to visit any local office or send a mail to an address, just log into your account, and make the required changes.

If you are a U.S. citizen and have a Class E passenger car driver’s license, the online process should be first on your list. Non-citizens and people with other types of licenses must go through the in-person process.


Step by step process

  • Head over to Virtual Office and locate your address by providing your last name, Date of Birth (DOB), current street address, Social Security Number (SSN), and Florida driver’s license number.
  • Once you have located your records, you can fill out a Florida FLHSMV change of address form. 
  • A change of address in Florida costs $25. Virtual Office accepts the following forms of payment:
    • VISA
    • MasterCard
    • AmericanExpress
    • Discover
  • You can also follow the same process using MyFlorida mobile application. It is available for Android and IOS both.

Documents/Information required:

You need the following documents to change your address on your driver’s license:

  • U.S. birth certificate (for U.S. citizens)
  • Green card or Form I-551 (for immigrants)
  • Valid U.S. passport
  • Naturalization papers
  • Proof of Social Security
  • W-2 form (not handwritten)
  • Proof of Florida residency (new address)
  • Driver’s license number

Note: You need to submit two different documents as proof of residency. These can include:

  • Mortgage agreement
  • Florida voter registration card
  • Utility bill
  • Selective service card

You can view the complete list of documents here:

You can update the address on your vehicle registration by following the same steps. The fee is $25, and you need the following documents:

  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) or license number plate
  • DOB
  • Proof of U.S. citizenship and Florida residency
  • Last five digits of your social security number
  • Florida driver’s license number

2. In person

The online process is not applicable under certain conditions. You will have to pay a visit to a local FLHSMV and fill the address change form in person. Don’t worry, it is quite easy and can be done in a few minutes. The FLHSMV representatives will be there to facilitate you. 

Both US and non-US citizens can opt for the in-person address change. You can also change your address with the Tax Collector Licensing Agent.


Step by step process


Documents required for your Florida driver's license and vehicle registration address change

This method is applicable for both driver’s license and vehicle registration address change. You just need:

  • U.S. birth certificate
  • Valid U.S. passport
  • Green card (form I-551)
  • Proof of residency
  • SSN

Following are some of the major FLHSMV offices and their address in Florida:



1331 South Blvd, Suite #101, P.O. Box 1038, Chipley, FL 32428



207 NE First St, Room #104, Jasper, FL 32052

Lake Placid


11 N. Pine Ave, Creel Building, Lake Placid, FL 33852



842 State Highway 20 E., Ste. 122, Freeport, FL 32439

I’m moving from another State to Florida: How to change my address with the Florida FLHSMV?

If you are moving from another state to Florida, you are required by FLHSMV to change your address within 30 days of your move

You will have to obtain a new driver’s license and update your vehicle registration too. Otherwise, you will not be able to drive your car around and can face legal issues with the traffic police. 

Note: If you move within Florida, your address will be updated on your current Florida driver’s license. But if you move from another state to Florida, you will get an entirely new driver’s license specifically for Florida. Your old one will become invalid.

Unfortunately, you don’t have the option to apply for a Florida driver’s license online through VirtualOffice. You are required to visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles office to start the full process.


Update my address in person with the FLHSMV

You can only use the online VirtualOffice portal of FLHSMV if you already have a Florida driver’s license and vehicle registration. Otherwise, you must visit their office in person. You are not required to take a driving test, but you must pass the vision and hearing test.


Step by step process

Here’s how you can apply for a new driver’s license in Florida:

  1. Locate your nearest FLHSMV office by visiting their website.
  2. If you want to save time and avoid any unexpected issues, book an appointment. You can get the phone number for all the FLHSMV on the website.
  3. You can also book an online appointment here
  4. Make sure you are going to a Dual Service Center as some offices will only have either Driver License (DL) Services or Motor Vehicle (MV) Services only.
  5. Once you have booked an appointment, go to the office and talk with a representative.
  6. You will be required to fill an FLHSMV address change form and pay a $48 fee for an original Class E (includes Learner’s license) driver license. An additional $6.25 tax fee may also be required. You can hop over to the FLHSMV fees section for further details.
  7. You have to follow the same procedure for new vehicle registration. You have to bring your car along with you to the office.

Documents/Information required

Although no driving test is required, you still need the following documents to obtain a new driver’s license and vehicle registration:

  • Social security card/Number (W-2 form, or paycheck or stub)
  • Proof of identity (can be a birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, or Certificate of Citizenship/Naturalization)
  • Two documents for proof of residency
  • Car’s original out-of-state title and current driver’s license (for vehicle registration)
  • An emission test is not required for vehicle registration, but you do need proof of liability insurance.
Miami, Florida DMV change of address

I’m moving from Florida to another State: How to change my address with the Florida FLHSMV?

If you are moving from Florida to another state, you do not need to bother with your driver’s license. Your Florida driver’s license will automatically be canceled once you obtain a new one from the state you’re moving to.

But you have to inform FLHSMV regarding your vehicle registration.


Return via mail

You are only required to return your vehicle registration and license plate to FLHSMV when moving to another state. Services are not available online, so gather your vehicle registration, license plate, and mail it to:

Bureau of Records
P.O. Box 5775
Tallahassee, FL 32314-5775

Documents required

  • All vehicle registrations
  • License plates

Frequently asked questions about DMV change of address

When should I notify the FLHSMV of my move?

Be sure that you notify the FLHSMV within 30 days of the move.